Book review: Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan (DNF)

Image: Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan, Putnam, 2019. All rights reserved. Cover design by Marikka Tamura, cover art by Jeff Östberg. Photograph of book taken by me. Image used on this blog under the “Fair dealing for criticism or review” provision of the Commonwealth Copyright Act, 1968.

I saw this novel on Instagram and was instantly attracted by its fun title & cover. What’s not to like about a romance heroine who dresses up in a hot dog costume? Well, hmm.

Elouise is one summer away from her final year of high school in small town America and is working at an amusement park as a walking hot dog. She has a crush on her amusement park co-worker, dreamy diving pirate Nick, but he is involved with the park’s perfect princess. Elouise comes up with a crazy scheme to get Nick to notice her, dragging her best friend Seeley into the process.

This romance just never really takes off. I actually had to stop listening to it (audiobook) halfway through as, although I had tried to persevere, I found it too slow paced and Elouise’s character simply too unlikeable. It’s narrated in the first person, so having a repetitive and whiny narrator was a huge drawback.

I hear that Verona Comics also by Jennifer Dugan is quite good, so I might try that one in the future. But this one left me cold. And the cover had so much potential…!


Title: Hot Dog Girl

Author: Jennifer Dugan

Cover: Cover design by Marikka Tamura, cover art by Jeff Östberg

First published: Putnam, 2019

Audio: narrated by Brittany Pressley, Listening Library

Genre: romance, rom-com

Representation: LGBTQIA+ (main characters)

Suitability: unsure, as didn’t finish reading

Fyi: I didn’t finish this book, but in the first half there were minor sexual references, minor drug references & some mild swearing

Themes: friendship, sexual identity, family, love

NSW syllabus: wide reading – but I wouldn’t recommend

If you like this, try: Love, Simon: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started